Deep Valley Roots

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

In these deep valley roots I find

A powerful sense of destiny and belonging.

There are ties of a unique kind.

Ties that leave me in longing

When I am repotted in not the soil

that fed the stocky oak,

or taught the cotton recoil,

or yielded crops for the harvester’s stroke.

I now find these deep valley roots in code;

constructed of zeroes and ones.

The soil seeks to put me into a new mold;

to put bits and chips into my lungs.

But these deep valley roots grow deep.

They burrow deep into the past.

High into the future do these valley branches reach.

One day, I will return to valley rich soil at last.

Leave a Reply

